13 October 2015 – 4 sparrows, 3 dead and 1 trapped

All right, it’s been several days so I’m comfortable listing that Lincoln’s Sparrow as trapped.  It’s still in fine shape, but I watched it bump a window (gently) as it tried to evade me.  There were at least two others and I think a Nashville Warbler hanging out in the trees by the main north entrance to the NRC this morning.  It could be there are 4 trapped birds there, but I’m being conservative about how I catalog them because they are all flying strongly, etc.

Not so lucky were three other sparrows this morning.  I found a Lincoln’s Sparrow at the southeast alcove and a Lincoln’s and Song Sparrow together at the south portico.  All were in great shape with fat = 2 or 3.  The Lincoln’s were both hatch-year; the Song was after hatch-year.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.09.16 AM Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.15.10 AM

DSCF8907 DSCF8910 DSCF8911 DSCF8913 DSCF8917 DSCF8918

Leave a Reply

