1 September 2015 – Mourning Warbler

I found our 8th Mourning Warbler of the study on Sep. 1, in the southwest alcove. It looked to be an ASY female, but I did not handle it for close examination.  I left it for a scavenging trial.

Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 9.26.47 AM

The backstory for this bird is that it actually died yesterday sometime after my morning check and before Corey’s 11:30 am check. This was a broad daylight collision.  I counted it here as a Sep. 1 fatality because I wouldn’t have discovered it until this morning had I been on my own.  I would have noticed that the bird was not a fresh casualty, but the best I could have done was say that it died sometime yesterday after my morning search and probably before midnight.  With Corey’s information, we now know that it was in place nearly 24 hrs before I detected it on my own.

Leave a Reply

