16 April 2013 – no casualties (I think)

Near one of the east alcoves (the northernmost one) I found a small pile of Mourning Dove feathers this morning.  The position of the feathers suggested to me that this scavenged bird might not have been a window casualty.  I could find no evidence of a collision closer to the windows, and the feather pile looked little different than those in my backyard when the Cooper’s Hawk pays a visit.  I have decided not to count it as a window casualty – despite the probability that it was – to help compensate for other carcasses I might have ascribed to window collisions that possibly were not.  So, the next ambiguous find I have like this will be counted as a window collision.  Remind me.

Leave a Reply

